Wednesday, 22 July 2015

10 FAQs on IGCSE Board

It is an age of an education revolution with every parent aspiring for a unique set of skill sets and creativity for one’s child, with aspirations that are truly unconventional.  It is always a challenge to choose the right board or school to fulfil these aspirations and empowering oneself with information on the different curricula offered is definitely a starting point. 

The Cambridge Curriculum is one such where the creativity and the versatility of a student can be explored, supported and encouraged to achieve those aspirations.

1. What is IGCSE/GCSE board?

IGCSE or GCSE as it is called in UK are international exams developed by University of Cambridge, encouraging and preparing a student to develop creativity, curiosity and a lasting passion for learning. 

2. What are the qualifications or certificates one achieves?

The qualifications are Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge O Level, Cambridge International AS and A Level, and Cambridge Pre-U. Several universities and employers around the world recognize these qualifications. 

3. What are the different programs offered under the Cambridge curriculum

Cambridge Primary (5-11 years)

Is a world class curriculum that develops cognitive skills in English, mathematics and science. The children’s learning is assessed as they progress with two optional assessments: Cambridge Primary Progression Tests and Cambridge Primary Checkpoint.

Cambridge Secondary 1 (11-14 years)

Cognitive skills in  are developed in English, mathematics and science for the first three years of secondary education. Its unique features are a combination of world-class curriculum, high-quality support for teachers and integrated assessment. Cambridge Secondary 1 Checkpoint

Cambridge Secondary 2 (14 – 16 years)

Offers two levels Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge O Level

Cambridge Advanced ((16 – 19 years)

Cambridge Advanced is typically for learners who need advanced study to prepare for university and higher education. It offers learners two routes: Cambridge International AS and A Level, and Cambridge Pre-U.

4. How well is it recognized in India ?

AS, A levels are well recognized by many universities in India , please find the recognition statements in this link

5. What are the subjects or groups offered in IGCSE ?

The subject groups are English, Humanities, Mathematics, Science, Social Science Technology and Arts.

6. How is grading done in IGCSE?

Grading is done in percentage uniform marks. A system of grading is followed which is not dependent on the marks obtained in the marksheet but a combination of the mark obtained in the answer sheet and the position of the grade thresholds. The grades range from A* to G.

7. What options can one opt for after IGCSE?

Passing IGCSE entitles the student for any +2 qualification in India or abroad.  One can opt for the Cambride A level exams conducted by CIE or opt for IB diplomat. 

8. What are A level exams?

This is an equivalent of 12th standard and is completed over 2 years with AS (Advanced Subsidiary Level) in the first year and A2 in the second year.

9. How are the Cambridge A level exams recognized in the US?

Cambridge International AS and A Levels are recognized by more than 485 universities in the USA. This includes Ivy League and Ivy Plus universities. CIE has formed a US Higher Education Advisory Council, membership of the Council includes representatives from universities such as MIT, Duke, Columbia, Penn State, Washington and Yale.

10. What is unique about IGCSE?

The beauty of IGCSE is the creativity , flexibility and the unique innovative methods that can be used to meet the needs of students with differing abilities. The curriculum boasts of a combination of over 70 subjects, 40 in the case of Edexcel. 

The IGCSE curriculum helps in developing creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving skills and could prove beneficial to those aspiring to go abroad for higher studies.

No comments:

Post a Comment